Contaminated sites and spills regulations (closed)

This engagement is now closed. It ran from 2018-09-20 to 2018-11-23.

Find the results

The results of the engagement will be posted here.

What was this engagement about?

There are approximately 700 known contaminated sites in Yukon. The contamination on these sites can range from very small (such as a leak from a fuel tank on a house) to very large (such as large-scale chemical spills).

The Contaminated Site Regulation establishes cleanup standards, processes for identifying, investigating and assessing contaminated sites, and permits for managing contaminated material within Yukon. The Spills Regulation sets reporting standards for spills of contaminants. 

How will my input make a difference?

We recognize that current regulations are sometimes duplicative and inefficient and that are behind most jurisdictions in Canada with respect to thresholds for contaminants and the management of spills.

Help us modernize Yukon’s rules for contaminated sites and spills to protect the territory’s water, land and air. Help determine how changes can support economic opportunities for development of sites and clarify expectations for remediation.

Following this engagement period, a report on “What We Heard” will be made available.

Give your feedback on the engagement process

How did we do at this public engagement? Tell us by completing a short questionnaire.

Rate our public engagement process.

Last updated:
2018-12-12

Send us your feedback

We will use this information to improve our services
The feedback you send will be anonymous. For security and privacy reasons, do not include personal or financial information.

Search the site

Contact us

Contact eservices@gov.yk.ca if you have a question about the site

Réglementation sur les lieux pollués et les déversements (terminée)

Cette consultation est terminée. Elle était en cours du 2018-09-20 au 2018-11-23.

Trouvez les résultats

Les résultats de la consultation seront affichés ici.

Quel était le but de la consultation?

Il y a environ 700 lieux pollués au Yukon. La pollution de ces lieux peut être localisée (ex. déversement du réservoir de carburant d’une habitation) ou très étendue (déversement majeur de produits chimiques).

Le Règlement sur les lieux pollués établit des normes relatives au nettoyage, les processus de désignation, d’évaluation et d’enquête à l’égard des lieux pollués, et les permis requis pour la gestion des matières polluées au Yukon. Le Règlement sur les déversements établit des normes relatives aux déversements de polluants. 

À quoi serviront les commentaires recueillis?

Nous reconnaissons que la réglementation actuelle est parfois redondante et inefficace, en plus d’être en retard par rapport à la plupart des administrations gouvernementales du Canada au chapitre des seuils ayant trait aux polluants et de la gestion des déversements.

Aidez-nous à moderniser la réglementation sur les lieux pollués et les déversements du Yukon afin de mieux protéger l’eau, le sol et l’air dans le territoire. Contribuez à établir comment les changements favoriseront les possibilités de développement économique des lieux et à préciser les attentes en matière d’assainissement.

À la suite de cette période de consultation, un rapport sera rendu public.

Donnez votre avis sur le processus de consultation

Faites parvenir tout autre commentaire à propos de la réglementation du Yukon sur les lieux pollués et les déversements ou au sujet du processus de consultation à envprot@gov.yk.ca.

Dernière mise à jour
2018-12-12

Adressez-nous vos commentaires

Nous utiliserons ces renseignements pour améliorer nos services
Vos commentaires resteront confidentiels. Pour des raisons de sécurité et de confidentialité, ne donnez aucun renseignement d’ordre personnel ou financier.

Rechercher sur le site

Pour nous joindre

Contactez eservices@gov.yk.ca si vous avez une question sur le site