Student Assessment Survey

How do I participate?

Parents at select schools can fill out the online survey between February 4 and March 4, 2019.

If you wish to fill out a hard copy survey instead, check with your school. We are surveying schools that started following the new assessment and reporting requirements during the 2017-18 school year. These schools are:

  • École Émilie Tremblay / L’Académie Parhélie
  • École Whitehorse Elementary School
  • Grey Mountain Primary School
  • Hidden Valley Elementary School
  • Jack Hulland Elementary School
  • Johnson Elementary School
  • Kluane Lake School
  • Khàtìnas.àxh Community School (formerly Teslin School)
  • Nelnah Bessie John School
  • Takhini Elementary School
  • Watson Lake Secondary School

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Parents should check in with their school to see when it started to follow the new assessment and reporting requirements.

What is this engagement about?

We’re checking in with parents at schools who have used the new student assessment and reporting requirements for one full school year. We want to see how  the reporting is going so far.

Changes to the way schools are required to assess and report to parents on student learning were introduced June 2017 and are part of the changes to Yukon’s school curriculum. Changes included how report cards look and how schools informally update parents through ways such as phone calls, e-mails and in-person meetings. In March-April 2017, we surveyed parents and asked what they thought about the changes.

Schools were given the option to implement the changes over the 2017-18, 2018-19 and 2019-20 school years. Some schools started in 2017-18 and some started in 2018-19. By the 2019-20 school year, all schools will be following the new requirements.

The Government of Yukon committed to checking in before the new assessment and reporting requirements are finalized for the 2019-20 school year, to ensure we can continue to improve reporting on student learning as we implement this process at all schools.

Schools who started to follow the new requirements in 2017-18 are being surveyed. After the new requirements are finalized for the 2019-20 school year, we will continue to survey parents at schools that started in 2018-19 and 2019-20 to ensure we capture feedback from all parents. We want to ensure parents have experienced the change for a full school year before being surveyed.

How will my input make a difference?

Your feedback will be provided to the school so they can adjust and improve their effort to assess and report in this new way. The Department of Education will also bring the feedback to its Assessment Committee meetings in March-April 2019 to identify how we can continue to provide support to schools and teachers as we finalize these changes for the 2019-20 school year.  

While changes will continue at all of our schools, we want to make sure that these new ways of reporting to parents include timely and valuable feedback about their child’s learning. While these new requirements are being finalized for the 2019-20 school year, feedback from parents will help the schools adjust their efforts to report in this new way as we move forward.

Where can I find related information?

Talk to your school about how they are assessing and reporting to you on your child’s learning.

You can also read more about these changes and the changes to the school curriculum by visiting the following links:

Where can I find results?

The results for this survey will be provided back to your school in late March/early April. They will also be available at this site.

Give your feedback on the engagement process

If you have any feedback on this engagement process, please e-mail kyle.nightingale@gov.yk.ca

Last updated:
2019-02-05

Send us your feedback

We will use this information to improve our services
The feedback you send will be anonymous. For security and privacy reasons, do not include personal or financial information.

Search the site

Contact us

Contact eservices@gov.yk.ca if you have a question about the site

Sondage sur l’évaluation des élèves

Comment participer?

Les parents dont les enfants fréquentent une des écoles sondées pourront remplir le sondage en ligne du 4 février au 4 mars 2019.

Si vous préférez, vous pouvez demander à l’école de vous faire parvenir un exemplaire papier du sondage. Les écoles concernées sont celles qui se sont conformées aux nouvelles exigences d’évaluation et de communication des résultats en 2017-2018, à savoir :

Informez-vous auprès de l’école de votre enfant pour savoir quand les nouvelles exigences en matière d’évaluation et de communication des résultats y sont entrées en vigueur.

Quel est le but de la consultation?

Nous souhaitons recueillir les commentaires des parents qui ont expérimenté une année scolaire complète selon les nouvelles exigences en matière d’évaluation des élèves et de communication des résultats. Nous souhaitons dresser un portrait fidèle de l’état actuel de la situation.

En juin 2017, dans le prolongement de l’implantation du nouveau programme d’études du Yukon, il y a eu des changements dans les méthodes utilisées par les écoles pour évaluer les élèves (forme des bulletins) et pour communiquer les résultats aux parents de façon informelle (appels téléphoniques, courriels, rencontres). En mars et avril 2017, un sondage a été réalisé pour connaître l’avis des parents sur ces changements.

Les écoles se sont vu accorder trois ans (2017-2018, 2018-2019 et 2019-2020) pour mettre en place les changements. Certaines écoles ont choisi de commencer dès 2017-2018, d’autres en 2018-2019. D’ici 2019-2020, toutes les écoles se seront conformées aux nouvelles exigences du programme d’études.

Le gouvernement s’était engagé à faire une démarche auprès des parents avant que toutes les écoles ne se soient conformées aux nouvelles exigences (en 2019-2020). L’objectif est d’améliorer le processus pendant sa mise en œuvre.

Les écoles qui ont mis en place les nouvelles exigences en 2017-2018 sont celles visées par le sondage. Étant donné que nous souhaitons connaître l’avis de tous les parents, le sondage se poursuivra une fois que toutes les écoles auront instauré les changements en 2019-2020. Les parents seront invités à faire le sondage une fois qu’ils auront expérimenté une année complète selon les nouvelles exigences. 

À quoi serviront les commentaires recueillis?

Les commentaires reçus seront transmis aux écoles pour les aider à se conformer aux nouvelles exigences. Le ministère de l’Éducation présentera aussi les commentaires lors des rencontres de son comité d’évaluation (en mars et avril 2019). L’objectif est d’établir comment continuer d’offrir du soutien aux écoles et aux enseignants d’ici la fin de la période de transition, en 2019-2020.

Les changements se mettent graduellement en place dans toutes les écoles, aussi souhaitons-nous assurer la pertinence et l’opportunité des communications envoyées aux parents sur les apprentissages de leurs enfants. Les commentaires des parents aideront les écoles à adapter leur démarche pendant la transition.

Où trouver plus d’information?

Contactez l’école de votre enfant pour connaître ses méthodes d’évaluation et de communication de la progression des apprentissages des élèves à leurs parents.

Vous pouvez également consulter les liens suivants pour en savoir plus sur les nouvelles exigences et le nouveau programme d’études :

Où voir les résultats?

Les résultats du sondage seront communiqués aux écoles à la fin du mois de mars ou au début du mois d’avril et seront également publiés ici.

Donnez votre avis sur le processus de consultation

Pour tout commentaire sur le processus de consultation, écrivez à : kyle.nightingale@gov.yk.ca.

Dernière mise à jour
2019-02-05

Adressez-nous vos commentaires

Nous utiliserons ces renseignements pour améliorer nos services
Vos commentaires resteront confidentiels. Pour des raisons de sécurité et de confidentialité, ne donnez aucun renseignement d’ordre personnel ou financier.

Rechercher sur le site

Pour nous joindre

Contactez eservices@gov.yk.ca si vous avez une question sur le site